Black and White Car Rental is not a 24 hour operation.
We do offer an after hours option for RETURN ONLY (we do not offer this service for picking up your rental vehicle, we only offer it upon return) and a $35.00 fee will be applied to your contract @ the time the vehicle is picked up and your contract is closed out.
If you need to return a rental vehicle outside of normal business hours please ask a representative at the time of booking for specific instructions and applicable fees, you may also ask for this information when you’re at the counter going over your contract. Please also make sure you inform the counter rep of your return time, if you chose a default time on your return when booking be sure to update this so to avoid any delay or issue.
Acceptable Charge Cards
** IMPORTANT TO READ**
We do not accept Debit Cards as valid form of payment.
All Credit Cards must be valid and must match the renters Drivers License. Third party billing is only permitted with the completion of our credit card charge form with the paying parties written consent along with a photo copy of the credit card and associated drivers license. Check or Cash cards are not accepted as credit authorization at the beginning of the rental. Cash however at the end of the rental can be used for payment of rental charges. Pre-paid credit cards are not accepted at any time. Debit cards with Visa Logos may or may not be accepted on short term-standard car rentals.
Acceptable credit cards: American Express, MasterCard, Diners Club, Visa, Discover Card.
A minimum $300 credit card authorization is required at the beginning of your rental. A maximum credit card authorization amount equal to 3 times the rental amount may be required depending on the type of vehicle you choose. Credit card authorizations are valid for 30 days.
Collision Damage Waiver
In California, the renter is liable for all damage to the Rented vehicle regardless of fault. The renter is also liable for loss of use of the vehicle (revenue lost while the car is being repaired).
Renters may purchase Collision Damage Waiver (CDW) which relieves them of all financial responsibility for loss or damage to the Rental vehicle as long as they comply with the terms of the rental agreement. In California, CDW does not relieve the renter for theft resulting from failure to use ordinary care. Cost of CDW will vary by car, group and rate.
If you have rental car coverage through your personal insurance or charge card, CDW offers maximum protection while your personal insurance or charge card coverage may contain a deductible. If you have any questions, check with your insurance provider. Written proof of insurance is required.
Rental Liability Protection
Qualified renters may purchase Renters Liability Protection (RLP) at the time of rental. Renters in California who purchase RLP will receive California required liability coverage.
WRITTEN PROOF OF LIABILITY COVERAGE IS REQUIRED AT OUR OFFICE IF YOU WILL BE DECLINING OUR COVERAGE.
Accident Liability Protection
Liability coverage is required in the state of CA. You must either provide written proof of coverage or purchase. Liability coverage does not cover your rental car, it covers any damage that your vehicle would cause to any 3rd party property. Liability coverage provides third party liability protection for bodily injury ($15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident) and property damage ($5,000) to third parties, as mandated and at the limits required by California.
Proof Of Insurance
We ask that you provide us with your insurance details at the time of booking this helps expedite your time @ the counter when you rent so we’re not verifying your coverage while you wait.
For any questions or concerns regarding coverage requirements please email Jennifer – Jennifer@bwrac.com
Under Age Policy
Renters must be a minimum of 21 years of age. You may qualify if you are between 18 and 20 with proof of full coverage transferable insurance. If you are under 21 you must provide us with a copy of your insurance so we may verify policy before renting. Please contact our reservation center for more information. (310) 337-9999
Vehicles Leaving California
Vehicles leaving the state of California are subject to mileage fees, please check what your mileage restrictions are with your booking agent. Black and White does not offer roadside service outside of California and Nevada.
Vehicles are never permitted into Mexico or Canada.
For any questions or concerns regarding our policies please email Jennifer – Jennifer@bwrac.com
All drivers must have a valid driver’s license in their possession to rent a vehicle. No copies or faxed licenses will be accepted at any time. The original license must be presented, and must be in the name of the driver.
The renter’s driver’s license must be valid for the entire rental period, with the following exception: An expired U.S. State driver’s license of U.S. military personnel on active duty is accepted at this location. The renter must present proof that he/she is on active duty. Expired licenses of U.S. military personnel returning from overseas duty are accepted for up to 60 days after discharge.
An International Driving Permit (IDP) serves only as a translation of a valid driver’s license. An IDP must always be presented in conjunction with the official drivers license of the issuing country.
Black & White Rent a Car will not rent to a holder of a license that restricts them to daytime driving only or to business driving only.
A learner’s permit is not accepted. A valid temporary license is accepted. Expired licenses will not be accepted.
If your vehicle is needed beyond the due date stated at the time of the opening of the contract, the customer MUST return to the original rental office and sign a new contract. The rate is subject to change.
When a vehicle is reserved and rented, the confirmed rate is only good during that specific time period. Any extension, or revision of the orginal reservation of any amount of time will result in a rate change. Rates are not pro-rated.
Fuel must be returned with same amount rented out. A fuel charge will be charged at the end of the rental otherwise.
No Brand Guarantees
Black & White Rent a Car does not guarantee specific brands or colors of vehicles at any time. If the vehicle that you reserved is not available, an alternate or upgraded vehicle may be assigned at management discretion.
Child Safety Seats – Are available with a minimum of 24-hour advance booking otherwise based on availability. The cost of the Child Safety Seat is $5.00 per day.
Portable GPS Units – Are available with a minimum of 24-hour advance booking. The cost of a portable GPS is $10.00 per day.
Renters Age 18 to 20 –
Special Qualification Apply
ALL RENTERS UNDER THE AGE OF 21 MUST PROVIDE THEIR OWN FULL COVERAGE INSURANCE THAT COVERS OUR CAR ON LIABILITY AND IT MUST TRANSFER OVER. THE CUSTOMER MAY NOT PURCHASE ANY COVERAGES FROM US AND MUST HAVE PROOF OF COVERAGES WITH THEM AT TIME OF RENTAL. YOU MAY WANT TO FAX OVER A COPY OF INSURANCE BEFORE RENTAL TO AVOID ANY DELAYS AT TIME OF RENTAL.
1 additional drivers permitted at no extra charge
Minimum Age for Additional Drivers: 21
NO CARS ARE PERMITTED INTO MEXICO
Vehicles must be returned with the fuel tank: Full
Fuel surcharges will apply. Price depends on current market. Ask at counter.
Cash deposits are not accepted.
Black & White Rent A Car accepts the following rental deposits:
VISA, Master Card, AMEX, Discover, Diners Club, Carte Blanche, JCB
Black & White Rent A Car accepts the following methods of payment:
VISA, Master Card, AMEX, Discover, Diners Club
Complimentary customer pickup may be available within a 3 mile radius of our Los Angeles rental locations and 2 mile radius of our San Francisco rental location. Please contact the rental location directly if you need this service.
A minimum charge of $700 will automatically be added to one way bookings between one of our Los Angeles based rental locations and San Francisco.
One way rentals between two different Los Angeles based rental locations is complimentary.
Under Age Fee
$25.00 per day
Portable GPS Unit
$10.00 per day
$5.00 per day
Our Cancellation Policy requires that you cancel your reservation no later than 24 hours prior to your pickup time. Failure to do so will result in a 1 day rental charge.